NCAA member schools nominated 535 female student-athletes for the 2021 NCAA Woman of the Year award and 24 of those are tennis athletes.

Established in 1991, the NCAA Woman of the Year award is rooted in Title IX and recognizes graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their NCAA eligibility and distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, service, and leadership throughout their collegiate careers.

The NCAA encourages member schools to honor their top graduating female college athletes by nominating them for the Woman of the Year award. Schools can recognize two nominees if at least one is a woman of color or international student-athlete.

Next, conferences will select up to two nominees each from their pool of member school nominees. All nominees who compete in a sport not sponsored by their school’s primary conference, as well as associate conference nominees and independent nominees, will be considered by a selection committee. Then, the Woman of the Year selection committee, made up of representatives from the NCAA membership, will choose 10 women from each division to make up the Top 30.

The selection committee will determine the top three honorees in each division from the Top 30, and the nine finalists will be announced this fall. From those nine finalists, the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics will choose the 2021 NCAA Woman of the Year later this fall.

NomineeSchoolConferenceNCAA Division
Sandra AllenLees-McRae CollegeConference CarolinasNCAA Division II
Mariacristina AndrisaniAcademy of Art UniversityPacific West ConferenceNCAA Division II
Lena van BergenPurdue University NorthwestGreat Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic ConferenceNCAA Division II
Maty Cancini DugarteIowa State UniversityBig 12 ConferenceNCAA Division I
Meible ChiDuke UniversityAtlantic Coast Conference (ACC)NCAA Division I
Eleanor CraneAverett UniversityUSA South Athletic ConferenceNCAA Division III
Jaeda DanielNorth Carolina State UniversityAtlantic Coast Conference (ACC)NCAA Division I
Nandini DasFlorida State UniversityAtlantic Coast Conference (ACC)NCAA Division I
Zoe Dominique GubbelsAngelo State UniversityLone Star ConferenceNCAA Division II
Claire HillyerMcMurry UniversityAmerican Southwest ConferenceNCAA Division III
Kathleen JosephUniversity of Texas at DallasAmerican Southwest ConferenceNCAA Division III
Zoe Leigh KaffenTrinity University (Texas)Southern Collegiate Athletic ConferenceNCAA Division III
Elisa KendallEast Texas Baptist UniversityAmerican Southwest ConferenceNCAA Division III
Ashley LaheyPepperdine UniversityWest Coast Conference (WCC)NCAA Division I
Julie LordLake Forest CollegeMidwest ConferenceNCAA Division III
Petra MelounovaUniversity of Hawaii, ManoaBig West ConferenceNCAA Division I
Melany OpolzCameron UniversityLone Star ConferenceNCAA Division II
Maja OrnbergFlorida Gulf Coast UniversityASUN ConferenceNCAA Division I
Ghazal PakbatenConcordia University IrvinePacific West ConferenceNCAA Division II
Estela Perez-SomarribaUniversity of Miami (FL)Atlantic Coast ConferenceNCAA Division I
Maggie RiermannBethel University (MN)Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic ConferenceNCAA Division III
Fabienne SchmidtAustin Peay State UniversityOhio Valley Conference (OVC)NCAA Division I
Anne TimmAugustana College (IL)College Conference of Illinois & WisconsinNCAA Division III
Vanessa WongUniversity of WashingtonPac-12 ConferenceNCAA Division I
- Advertisement -
ITA Summer Circuit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here