Home ITA Awards ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award

ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award

ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award

The ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award pays tribute each year to past participants in the world of varsity tennis who have achieved excellence in their chosen careers. The spirit of the award honors both professional success and contributions to society, made either as a direct result of a career, or through humanitarian efforts. In 2015, Margie and Stan Smith endowed the ITA Achievement Award in honor of Benjamin.

Past ITA Achievement Awards Laureates

 2021: Pardis Sabeti, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), 1997
 2020: No Award Given
 2019: Doug Conant, Northwestern University, 1973
 2018: Rick Barton, Harvard University, 1971
 2017: Howard Lutnick, Haverford College, 1983
 2016: Brian Hainline, M.D., University of Notre Dame, 1978
 2015: John Bridgeland, Harvard University, 1982
 2014: Lynn Tilton, Yale University, 1981
 2013: Roger Crawford, Loyola Marymount University, 1982
 2012: General Ann E. Dunwoody, State University of New York at Cortland, 1975
 2011: Jon D. Erickson, University of Michigan, 1959
 2010: Robert A Swift, Haverford College, 1968
 2009: John L. Thornton, Harvard University, 1976
 2008: Sheridan Snyder, University of Virginia, 1958
 2007: Dr. Geoffrey Tabin, Yale University, 1978
 2006: Thomas Cundy, Florida State University, 1955
 2005: Steve Appleton, Boise State University, 1982
 2004: Dr. George Fareed, University of California, 1966
 2003: Gene Sperling, University of Minnesota, 1982
 2002: Jack Blanton, Sr., University of Texas, 1947
 2001: Patricia Beckford Acheson, Queens College, 1972
 2001: Judge Gerald E. Rosen, Kalamazoo College, 1973
 2000: Dr. Ruth M. Haude, Indiana State (PA), 1958
 2000: Dr. Michael P. Johnson, Clark University, 1979
 1999: Christine Grant, Swarthmore College, 1969
 1999: Governor Pedro Rossello, University of Notre Dame, 1966
 1998: Lieutenant Colonel Gail Allen, Air Force Academy, 1982
 1998: Dr. William Bowen, Denison University, 1955
 1997: Dr. Bert Vogelstein, University of Pennsylvania, 1981
 1997: Lisa Hoffstein, University of Pennsylvania, 1981
 1996: Roger B. Porter, Brigham Young University, 1969
 1996: Wilma A. Lewis, Swarthmore College, 1978
 1995: Dr. Rebecca Birchmore Campen, University of Georgia, 1963
 1995: Senator John Breaux, University of Southwestern Louisiana, 1964
 1994: Judge Peggy Brenden, Luther College, 1976
 1994: Athan James Shaka, Harvey Mudd College, 1980



- Advertisement -